Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Dr. Stanley Hirsch


Stanley Hirsch, D.Phil., has served as our director since February 2005. Dr. Hirsch has 28 years of experience in executive positions, including director of business development for a privately held group of healthcare companies. He has also served as general manager of two diagnostics development companies. Dr. Hirsch has been CEO at FuturaGene Ltd., and its predecessor company CBD Technologies Ltd., since 1989, and has also held the position of General Manager of Portman Pharmaceutical Industries. Since the acquisition of FuturaGene Plc by Suzano Pulp and Paper, a major Brazilian industrial public corporation in July 2010, he also holds the equivalent position of a vice president at Suzano, reporting to the CEO at Suzano. Dr. Hirsch holds a D. Phil in Cell Biology and Immunolgy from Oxford University, England.

Stanley Stern

Chairman of the Audit Committee and Member of Compensation Committee

Mr. Stanley Stern has 30 years of experience as an investment banker, working for Salomon Brothers, Oppenheimer & Co, STI Ventures and C.E. Unterberg. In 2013, Mr. Stern founded Alnitak Capital Partners which provides strategic advice and conducts merchant banking activities. Mr. Stern holds a B.A. in Economics and Accounting from City University of New York, Queen College, and an M.B.A. from Harvard University.

Rex Bright

Chairman of Compensation Committee

Mr. Rex Bright has held CEO positions in the health care industry for the past 20 years. Mr. Bright was the co-founder and CEO of SkinMedica, a specialty pharmaceutical business that was later acquired by Allergan. Mr. Bright has worked in executive positions for Johnson & Johnson and GlaxoSmithKline. Mr. Bright holds a B.A. in Business Administration and Marketing from Drury College, Missouri.

Dr. Anna Kazanchyan

Dr. Anna Kazanchyan is a biotechnology executive with a unique combination of clinical, equity research, business strategy and business development expertise. She has 15+ years of experience at marquee Wall Street firms, biopharmaceutical companies and as an entrepreneur. Dr. Kazanchyan is the founder and Managing Partner of Primary i-Research, LLC, where she provides due diligence to leading healthcare investment funds and evaluates investment prospects of biopharmaceutical companies based on the scientific, clinical, regulatory, and commercial outlook for their products. In addition, she has been a strategic advisor to CEOs of biopharmaceutical companies (start-ups to global companies) and has advised companies on matters related to business development, regulatory strategy, marketing and commercial/competitive landscape. Previously, Dr. Kazanchyan was Senior Biotechnology Analyst at Wachovia Securities, and was a member of the #1 and #2 Institutional-Investor ranked Biotechnology Equity Research teams at Goldman Sachs and Citigroup, respectively. She received an M.D. from Harvard Medical School and a B.A. in Biology, summa cum laude, from Clark University.

Dr. Darrell Rigel

Member of the Audit Committee

Dr. Darrell Rigel is a Clinical Professor of Dermatology at the New York University Medical School, anAdjunct Clinical Professor of Dermatology at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, as well as being an Attending at the Tisch and Bellevue Hospitals in New York. Dr. Rigel holds an SB in Management Information Sciences and an SM in Management Information Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and an M.D. from the George Washington University School of Medicine.

Dr. Dov Tamarkin

Dr. Tamarkin, Chief Executive Officer of Foamix Pharmaceuticals, is a co-founder of the Company and co-inventor of the Foamix Foam and OilGel technologies. In his thirty years of pharmaceutical experience, Dr. Tamarkin held multiple senior management positions at Teva Pharmaceuticals, Portman Pharmaceutical Industries, PowerPaper and TPI.
He holds a Ph.D. degree in chemistry from The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel; and is the inventor of over a hundred patents in the pharmaceutical field.

Dr. Aaron Schwartz

Dr. Aaron Schwartz served in a number of positions at Teva from 1975 through 2011. After serving 7 years as the head of the pharmaceutical division of Teva in Israel, Dr. Schwartz created the Copaxone division of Teva in 1992 and led it for 9 years. His most recent position was Vice President, Head of Teva Innovative Ventures - TIV, which he held from 2008 to 2011. 
Dr. Schwartz is currently chairman of the board for several life science companies. Dr. Schwartz received a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the Weizmann Institute, an M.Sc. in organic chemistry from the Technion and a B.Sc. in chemistry and physics from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He recently received a second Ph.D. from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in the history and philosophy of science.


Dr. Dalia Megiddo

Dr. Dalia Megiddo is an experienced healthcare and investment professional in the pharmaceutical and healthcare sectors. She has co-founded a number of pharma companies, including Alcobra Ltd. (Nasdaq: ADHD), Bioblast-Pharma Ltd. (Nasdaq: ORPN) and Chiasma Ltd. (Nasdaq: CHMA). She currently serves as Managing Partner of Expedio Ventures, and previously ran other life science investment funds, including Jerusalem Global Ventures and 7-Health.

Dr. Megiddo serves as a director of Bioblast-Pharma Ltd. She formerly served as a director of Alcobra Ltd., AngioScore Inc., Chiasma (Israel) Ltd., Chiasma Inc., Given Imaging Ltd. (Nasdaq: GIVN) and Elron Electronic Industries Ltd. (Nasdaq: ELRN)

Dr. Megiddo holds an M.D. in Medicine from Hebrew University, Jerusalem, and is a licensed specialist in family medicine. She also holds an M.B.A. degree from the Kellogg Recanati International School of Business (Tel Aviv University and North Western University).